French Weekly, Week 4

Note: many of these words have further meanings; these are just the meanings of them that I learned at the time!

Raccommodage = mending (can also be verbified: raccommodager = to mend)

Reliure = book cover, binding
Aire de jeu = playground
Grimoire= book of magic spells

A word I constantly want to use is “block,” as in, “walk two blocks then turn left”. But the French don’t really have a simple word for this. The closest compromises I’ve found are “paté de maisons,” or saying “it’s two roads from here”.

Engineering Vocabulary:
Béton = concrete
Poutre = beam
Chargé = loaded
Tassement = settlement
Contrainte = stress (ex: la contrainte normale = normal stress)
Traction = tension
Cisaillement = shearing

One comment on “French Weekly, Week 4

  1. […] mechanics, this course approaches the material in a different way and I’m learning a lot of vocabulary from it. It’s also a master’s level course here, which I find a little […]

Leave a comment